Blues Alley
Blues Alley


Mon Apr 17

Mao Sone Quartet "Japanese Jazz Series"

Mon, April 17
10PM / $20
Buy Tickets
Blues Alley

1073 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007

Mao Sone

Mao Soné is a professional trumpet player, pianist, composer, educator from Japan currently living in New York City, who has strongly developed and identifiable style merging Japanese traditional sound and the other cultures, using jazz as a medium. He is known for his unorthodox approach to playing both the trumpet and the piano simultaneously.  

 


Born in Tokyo, Japan, Mao became a local musician in his hometown, Nagareyama, at the age of nine. At Berklee, Mao studied with Tiger Okoshi, Sean Jones, and Hal Crook, as well as Danilo Perez, John Patitucci, and Joe Lovano.  He shared the stages with Danilo Perez, Terri Lyne Carrington, John Patitucci, Joe Lovano, Tiger Okoshi and more. He performed at the Newport Jazz Festival, Montreal Jazz Festival, Monterey Jazz Festival, Toronto Jazz Festival and more.  Mao has been awarded many accolades and honors, including first prize at International Trumpet Guild Improvisation Competition, being chosen as one of the 13 semi-finalists at the Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition, Nagareyama City - Culture Prize and Distinguished Services Prize, and the first prize at "Keep An Eye" international jazz awards in Amsterdam as a part of the Berklee Global Jazz Institute. 

Visit Website
Watch Video

Mon, April 17

10PM / $20
Buy Tickets

Upcoming Events

Thu, March 23, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 23, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 24, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 24, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 25, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 25, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 26, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 26, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 27, 8:00 PM

Dave Kline Band

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 27, 10:00 PM

Dave Kline Band

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 28, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 28, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 29, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 29, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 1, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 1, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 3, 8:00 PM

Bohemian Caverns Jazz Orchestra 7th Anniversary

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 3, 10:00 PM

Bohemian Caverns Jazz Orchestra 7th Anniversary

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 4, 8:00 PM

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 4, 10:00 PM

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 5, 8:00 PM

Meklit Hadero

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 5, 10:00 PM

Meklit Hadero

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 8:00 PM

Gregoire Maret

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 10:00 PM

Gregoire Maret

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 7, 8:00 PM

SFJazz Collective: The Music of Miles Davis & Original Compositions

Get Tickets →