Blues Alley
Blues Alley


Tue Apr 25

SMJO Ensemble "Celebrates Ella at 100"

Tue, April 25
8PM / $35
Buy Tickets
Blues Alley

1073 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007

SJMO Quartet

"Ms. Clarks sound evokes not [Billie] Holiday but rather a less operatic Sarah Vaughan fused with the more animated side of Shirley Horn, a singer who also liked to take her time. Ms. Clarks voice is rich, her phrasing unfussy, her jazz embellishments minimal. -- Stephen Holden, New York Times

In 1990 the U.S. Congress, recognizing the importance of jazz in American culture, authorized the establishment of the Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra (SJMO) as the orchestra-in-residence at the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History.

Whether a 17-member big band, quartet, septet, or small group, the SJMO presents concerts featuring transcribed works, new arrangements, commissioned works and programs that illuminate the work of jazz masters who contributed to the development of American jazz and defined the music’s character. 

Visit Website
Watch Video

Tue, April 25

8PM / $35
Buy Tickets

*Please note:
1. Final sale, no refunds, not transferable.
2. $12 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price.
3. Seating first come at the door. Doors open at the earliest of 6 PM & 9:45 PM respectively.
4. Photography or Recording of any kind is prohibited during the performance.
5. Keep conversation to a minimum during the performance.

Upcoming Events

Thu, March 23, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 23, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 24, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 24, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 25, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 25, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 26, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 26, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 27, 8:00 PM

Dave Kline Band

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 27, 10:00 PM

Dave Kline Band

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 28, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 28, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 29, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 29, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 1, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 1, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 3, 8:00 PM

Bohemian Caverns Jazz Orchestra 7th Anniversary

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 3, 10:00 PM

Bohemian Caverns Jazz Orchestra 7th Anniversary

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 4, 8:00 PM

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 4, 10:00 PM

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 5, 8:00 PM

Meklit Hadero

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 5, 10:00 PM

Meklit Hadero

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 8:00 PM

Gregoire Maret

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 10:00 PM

Gregoire Maret

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 7, 8:00 PM

SFJazz Collective: The Music of Miles Davis & Original Compositions

Get Tickets →