Blues Alley
Blues Alley


Sat Jul 1

Azar Lawrence Quartet

Sat, July 1
10PM / $30
Buy Tickets
Blues Alley

1073 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007

Azar Lawrence

Azar Lawrence grew up during an era of prolificacy and transcendence in Jazz music that, to this day, has stood the test of time.  While still very young, Azar began playing with many jazz legends and, at just seventeen, he played his first professional gigs abroad with Clark Terry and Muddy Waters. He has composed, produced and performed with acclaimed jazz luminary McCoy Tyner for over five years and with Elvin Jones for many years.

Lawrence’s first music lessons were given to him by his mother, educator and classical pianist Ima Jean Lawrence. In high school, Azar played with the Dorsey High School Jazz Workshop where he became friends and shared many musical ideas with pianist and  mentor, Herbert Baker. Also while in high school, Azar performed with the legendary Horace Tapscott Arkestra where he met and became close friends with Reggie Golson, the late son of jazz icon,Benny Golson. Reggie and the Golson family became very instrumental in Azar’s musical journey in Jazz.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, July 1

10PM / $30
Buy Tickets

Upcoming Events

Mon, May 1, 8:00 PM

Vivian Sessoms "Life"

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 1, 10:00 PM

Vivian Sessoms "Life"

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 2, 8:00 PM

Kevin Jackson

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 2, 10:00 PM

Kevin Jackson

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 3, 8:00 PM

Nate Najar Trio "This is Nate Najar"

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 3, 10:00 PM

Nate Najar Trio "This is Nate Najar"

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 4, 8:00 PM

Ravi Coltrane Quartet

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 4, 10:00 PM

Ravi Coltrane Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 5, 8:00 PM

Ravi Coltrane Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 5, 10:00 PM

Ravi Coltrane Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 8:00 PM

Rene Marie

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 10:00 PM

Rene Marie

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 7, 8:00 PM

Rene Marie

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 7, 10:00 PM

Rene Marie

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 8, 8:00 PM

Daniel Weatherspoon "The Langley Park Project"

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 8, 10:00 PM

Daniel Weatherspoon "The Langley Park Project"

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 9, 8:00 PM

Von Pariss "The Music of LTD & Jeffrey Osborne"

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 9, 10:00 PM

Von Pariss "The Music of LTD & Jeffrey Osborne"

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 10, 8:00 PM

Cedric A. Napoleon & Friends "Yesterday Today"

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 10, 10:00 PM

Cedric A. Napoleon & Friends "Yesterday Today"

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 11, 8:00 PM

Ms. Lisa Fischer & Grand Baton

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 11, 10:00 PM

Ms. Lisa Fischer & Grand Baton

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 12, 8:00 PM

Ms. Lisa Fischer & Grand Baton

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 12, 10:00 PM

Ms. Lisa Fischer & Grand Baton

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 8:00 PM

Ms. Lisa Fischer & Grand Baton

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 10:00 PM

Ms. Lisa Fischer & Grand Baton

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 14, 8:00 PM

Ms. Lisa Fischer & Grand Baton

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 14, 10:00 PM

Ms. Lisa Fischer & Grand Baton

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 15, 8:00 PM

Ahmad Jamal Presents SHAHIN NOVRASLI DUO

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 15, 10:00 PM

Ahmad Jamal Presents SHAHIN NOVRASLI DUO

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 16, 8:00 PM

Rochelle Rice

Get Tickets →