Blues Alley
Blues Alley


Sat Sep 16

Yellowjackets

Sat, September 16
10PM / $35
Buy Tickets
Blues Alley

1073 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007

Yellowjackets

The buzz surrounding The Yellowjackets continues to resonate after over 20 years of recording. And as long as the band continues to expand its musical horizons, founding member and group keyboardist Russell Ferrante expects the band to pollinate a plethora of genres for years to come.

In 1977, Robben Ford assembled a group of veteran session musicians to record his album The Inside Story. The trio of musicians, which included keyboardist Russell Ferrante, bassist Jimmy Haslip and drummer Ricky Lawson, soon discovered a certain "chemistry" and musical affinity that led to their formation of Yellowjackets. The Inside Story being mainly instrumental, Robben Ford's record label wanted him to record another album that was more pop and vocal oriented. The group, known as the Robben Ford Group, preferred to pursue the instrumental route, and a "band within a band" was formed. This same group with Robben Ford on guitar recorded digital demos that were eventually accepted by Warner Brothers, and Yellowjackets was born. While Robben's contributions would diminish over the years to being a guest artist, the group known as Yellowjackets would flourish.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, September 16

10PM / $35
Buy Tickets

*Please note:
1. Final sale, no refunds, not transferable.
2. $12 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price.
3. Seating first come at the door. Doors open at the earliest of 6 PM & 9:45 PM respectively.
4. Photography or Recording of any kind is prohibited during the performance.
5. Keep conversation to a minimum during the performance.

Upcoming Events

Tue, June 27, 8:00 PM

Peter Beets Trio

Get Tickets →

Tue, June 27, 10:00 PM

Peter Beets Trio

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 28, 8:00 PM

Willie Jones III Quintet

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 28, 10:00 PM

Willie Jones III Quintet

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 29, 8:00 PM

YXplainit

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 29, 10:00 PM

YXplainit

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 30, 8:00 PM

Carol Riddick & Friends

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 30, 10:00 PM

Carol Riddick & Friends

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 1, 8:00 PM

Azar Lawrence Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 1, 10:00 PM

Azar Lawrence Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 2, 8:00 PM

Azar Lawrence Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 2, 10:00 PM

Azar Lawrence Quartet

Get Tickets →

Mon, July 3, 8:00 PM

Eric Felten Jazz Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Mon, July 3, 10:00 PM

Eric Felten Jazz Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Tue, July 4, 8:00 PM

CLOSED - 4th of July

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 5, 8:00 PM

The 512 Experience

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 5, 10:00 PM

The 512 Experience

Get Tickets →

Thu, July 6, 8:00 PM

Jean Carne

Get Tickets →

Thu, July 6, 10:00 PM

Jean Carne

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 7, 8:00 PM

Jean Carne

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 7, 10:00 PM

Jean Carne

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 8, 8:00 PM

Jean Carne

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 8, 10:00 PM

Jean Carne

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 9, 8:00 PM

Jean Carne

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 9, 10:00 PM

Jean Carne

Get Tickets →

Mon, July 10, 8:00 PM

Robert Mwamba "Coastin"

Get Tickets →

Mon, July 10, 10:00 PM

Robert Mwamba "Coastin"

Get Tickets →

Tue, July 11, 8:00 PM

Lila Hood

Get Tickets →

Tue, July 11, 10:00 PM

Lila Hood

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 12, 8:00 PM

Jay Williams "Just Because"

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 12, 10:00 PM

Jay Williams "Just Because"

Get Tickets →