Blues Alley
Blues Alley


Tue Apr 4

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Tue, April 4
8PM / $25
Buy Tickets
Blues Alley

1073 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007

Jeff Lorber Fusion

By the late 1970s, trailblazing keyboardist/composer/producer Jeff Lorber had become a prominent figure in the new movement known as jazz fusion – a marriage of traditional jazz with elements of rock, R&B, funk and other electrified sounds. Lorber and his band, the Jeff Lorber Fusion, first honed their craft in the Portland, Oregon, club scene and rapidly expanded their reach to a national and international audience via a combination of complex harmonies, unconventional time signatures and compelling rhythms.  In subsequent years, Lorber dropped the term “fusion” from his billing as the movement evolved into what is currently known as contemporary jazz. Still, he continued to explore the innovative, improvisational potential of grafting other musical forms to the jazz idiom.

Stretching the envelope has been Lorber’s strategy from the very beginning. Born in Philadelphia in 1952, Lorber began playing piano when he was just four years old. By his teen years, he had hooked up with several local R&B bands, but his tastes trended more toward jazz when he studied at Berklee College of Music.

 

Tue, April 4

8PM / $25
Buy Tickets

Upcoming Events

Thu, March 23, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 23, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 24, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 24, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 25, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 25, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 26, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 26, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks Group

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 27, 8:00 PM

Dave Kline Band

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 27, 10:00 PM

Dave Kline Band

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 28, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 28, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 29, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 29, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 1, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 1, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 8:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 10:00 PM

Roy Hargrove

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 3, 8:00 PM

Bohemian Caverns Jazz Orchestra 7th Anniversary

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 3, 10:00 PM

Bohemian Caverns Jazz Orchestra 7th Anniversary

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 4, 10:00 PM

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 5, 8:00 PM

Meklit Hadero

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 5, 10:00 PM

Meklit Hadero

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 8:00 PM

Gregoire Maret

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 10:00 PM

Gregoire Maret

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 7, 8:00 PM

SFJazz Collective: The Music of Miles Davis & Original Compositions

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 7, 10:00 PM

SFJazz Collective: The Music of Miles Davis & Original Compositions

Get Tickets →