Blues Alley
Blues Alley


Sun Sep 1

Chris Thomas King

Sun, September 1
8PM / $25
Get Tickets
Blues Alley

1073 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007

Chris Thomas King

Chris Thomas King is a New Orleans Grammy Award-winning musician and actor who is initially known for his audacious fusion of blues and hip-hop. King reached a whole new audience with his film debut in the Coen Brothers film, O Brother, Where Art Thou?, not only appearing on the award-winning soundtrack, but establishing himself as a serious dramatic actor as well.

Initially known for his audacious fusion of blues and hip-hop, Chris Thomas King reached a whole new audience with the Coen Brothers film O Brother, Where Art Thou?, not only appearing on the award-winning soundtrack but playing a prominent supporting character as well. Despite the much-celebrated, down-to-earth rootsiness of O Brother's music, King had previously been a determined progressive, hoping to reinvigorate the blues as a living African American art with a more contemporary approach and adamantly refusing to treat it as a museum piece whose "authentic" forms needed careful preservation. King eventually modified that approach to a certain degree, attempting to create a more explicit link between blues tradition and the general musical present.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sun, September 1

8PM / $25
Get Tickets

*Please note:
1. Final sale, no refunds, not transferable.
2. $12 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price.
3. Seating first come at the door. Doors open at the earliest of 6 PM & 9:45 PM respectively.
4. Photography or Recording of any kind is prohibited during the performance.
5. Keep conversation to a minimum during the performance.

Upcoming Events

Wed, March 20, 8:00 PM

Spencer Day

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 20, 10:00 PM

Spencer Day

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 21, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 21, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 22, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 22, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 23, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 23, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 24, 8:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 24, 10:00 PM

Kevin Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 25, 8:00 PM

BCJO featuring Jihye Lee

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 25, 10:00 PM

BCJO featuring Jihye Lee

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 26, 8:00 PM

Avishai Cohen Quartet

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 26, 10:00 PM

Avishai Cohen Quartet

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 27, 8:00 PM

Dayme Arocena

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 27, 10:00 PM

Dayme Arocena

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 28, 8:00 PM

Lee Ritenour

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 28, 10:00 PM

Lee Ritenour

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 29, 8:00 PM

Lee Ritenour

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 29, 10:00 PM

Lee Ritenour

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 30, 8:00 PM

Lee Ritenour

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 30, 10:00 PM

Lee Ritenour

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 31, 8:00 PM

Lee Ritenour

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 31, 10:00 PM

Lee Ritenour

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 1, 8:00 PM

Yoko Miwa Trio

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 1, 10:00 PM

Yoko Miwa Trio

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 2, 8:00 PM

Yvette Spears

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 2, 10:00 PM

Yvette Spears

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 3, 8:00 PM

Steve Smith & Vital Information NYC Edition

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 3, 10:00 PM

Steve Smith & Vital Information NYC Edition

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 4, 8:00 PM

Buster Williams "Something More"

Get Tickets →